A large self-catering holiday House and cottage in cornwall

tel: 01249 730323

Carn Du Reviews

 

“Lovely house”

Reviewed September 2018 - G and RL family and friends

 

Lovely to be back in Mousehole. Enjoyed staying in this lovely house.

 

“Fantastic 2 weeks”

Reviewed September 2018 - SS and friends

 

We have had a fantastic 2 weeks in this amazing house, wish we could stay!

 

“A marvellous house”

Reviewed August 2018 - The B D-D Family - Guest Book

 

Carn Du was a marvellous house to stay in and we all enjoyed it tremendously.  The house is not “over the top” yet has everything you could want, a very well-equipped kitchen, lots of hot water, comfy sofas and a great swimming pool.

Thank you, I will certainly recommend it to my friends.

 

 

“We all loved it here”

Reviewed August 2018 - The C, K and S familes

 

Lovely house and amazing views! We all loved it here and wish we could’ve stayed longer.

 

“What a wonderful house”

Reviewed August 2018 - The D and E familes

 

What a wonderful house and all enjoyed our week. Stunning views, and living space, sunshine…and the pool was a huge success.

 

“Spectacular sea views”

Reviewed July 2018 - MG on Tripadvisor

 

Everything about our stay at Carn Du was wonderfully memorable. A beautiful charming scenic cottage. Amelia made sure to provide a friendly welcome to Cornwall with a well-appointed cottage masterfully designed to take full advantage of the spectacular sea views stretching away to St Michaels Mount in the distance. Everything was thought of right down to a welcoming bottle of wine and Cornish scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, to make sure that we were immediately immersed in the easy and relaxing Cornish countryside. A thoroughly stay made even better by the glorious weather.

 

“Had a wonderful time”

Reviewed 23 June 2018 - MJG on Tripadvisor

 

Had a wonderful time this June staying at Carn Du. A few families all gathered in one place to cook nice food and enjoy the views. It’s a wonderful base for Mousehole, St Michael’s Mount and the coast. We hiked the coastal path, cycled around and started and ended our days around the big dining room table. We accidentally left things behind, and the owners were lovely about sending them on.

Would definitely return and stay longer this time.

 

“Amazing house”

Reviewed 23 June 2018

 

Wow! Amazing house we have all had a super week. Everything we could have asked for.

 

“Fabulous house”

Reviewed 16 April 2018 - The W and W Families

 

We have had the most wonderful week in your fabulous house. Just the most perfect week. Thank you so much.

 

“Wonderful vistas”

Reviewed 17 August 2017 - The Gentle Folk

 

Having travelled from all corners of the globe, we were glad to rest our weary bones in this amazing house. Our morning constitutionals were full of wonderful vistas and charming local folk. We must go now as our carriage awaits.

 

“Today is my favourite day!”

Reviewed 29 July 2017 - D and H. Families

 

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home.

 

“Views incredible!”

Reviewed 17 July 2017 - M, S, W, Wr, A. Families

 

Fantastic house – views incredible! We’ve had a brilliant week and very sad to leave. Thank you.

 

“Love the pool!”

Reviewed 02 June 2017 - G. Family

 

Lovely house, Lovely walks, Love the pool!!

 

“Fantastic characterful house in a sublime location!”

Reviewed 03 January 2017 - KK, on Tripadvisor

 

A lovely house with real character in an absolutely sublime location! Thoroughly enjoyed by everyone in our group…

 

“Excellent stay”

Stayed 01 January 2017 - S, P B, F, and F

 

We had a great time, fab views, fab house,. Excellent stay – would recommend to others. Thanks.

 

“Lovely Birthday celebration”

Reviewed 26 November 2016 - P, P, B and S familes

 

Lovely Birthday celebration with friends and family – thank you!!

 

“My dream location”

Reviewed 28 October 2016 - C, G and W familes

 

My dream location with my family on my 60th. Fun Fun Fun!!!

 

“Beautifully furnished”

Reviewed 21 October 2016

 

Beautifully furnished cosy cottage in an amazing position. It feels loved by both owners and other visitors. It's a special place.

 

“The best ever time in Cornwall”

Reviewed September 2016 - The D Family

 

Had the best ever time in Cornwall, Thank you! Gorgeous house & pool x x

 

“Idyllic”

Reviewed 16 September 2016

 

Idyllic - cottage and location both superb.

 

“A spacious house ”

Reviewed August 2016 - The G Family

 

Carn Du is a spacious house for a reunion. We have visited on 6 times & always find it in immaculate condition.

 

“Loved the window seat”

Reviewed 12 August 2016

 

Location was just the best ever Loved the window seat in the kitchen, it's me and my wife new favourite place to just sit and enjoy a cup of tea. The small double bed upstairs at 6ft 3 I struggled to get comfy and have a good nights sleep but that is being very picky really as we loved the place so much we have already booked again to stay next year.

 

“Absolutely LOVELY!  ”

Reviewed July 2016 - Yoga Retreat

 

Absolutely LOVELY! We had ladies from Belgium, Germany, Poland, Ireland, New York & all over the UK and they were completely enamoured with the house It’s a stunner. Thank you!

 

“Thanks for our memories. ”

Reviewed July 2016 - N and B Familes

 

Family get together for belated birthday. Lovely house and wonderful panorama. Thanks for our memories.

 

“The perfect location”

Reviewed May 2016

 

A lovely cottage which felt like home - even cosier! It's in the perfect location in Coverack. We can see why so many people return - and we hope to be among them!

 

“Superb views and wonderful beds ”

Reviewed May 2016 - The L, W and H Families

 

Superb views and wonderful beds. Fabulous! Lovely vista & sea. Thank you very much!! Amazing house…

 

“This house has sprinkled its magic ”

Reviewed May 2016 - The G Family

 

Since 2011 this house has sprinkled its magic over us each year. Thank you Carn Du for very happy memories.

 

“Gorgeous views”

Reviewed April 2016 - The D and C Families

 

Beautiful house, gorgeous views and a terrific stay, magical, wonderful, stunning week in your beautiful house. Hope you will have us back!

 

“The best Cornish country seaside house we've stayed at”

Reviewed 28 February 2016

 

We will remember our holiday at Carn Dun for ever. The house is beautiful and to my delight there was plenty of wonderful books in the library. We learnt to surf at Sennen Cove and spent the days wondering around the sweet little villages in this stunning area. Thank you!

 

“Wow”

Reviewed  January 2016 - The B Family

 

Wow! What an amazing week. Thanks Carn Du, your hospitality has been amazing.

 

“Rural and quiet”

Reviewed 20 February 2016

 

Absolutely fantastic holiday destination. Rural and quiet.

 

“A beautiful home ”

Reviewed Christmas 2015-16 - The S and L Family

 

A beautiful home to share the Holiday Season. A Happy Christmas had by all.

 

“Unbeatable location”

Reviewed 09 October 2015

 

Unbeatable location. Winter season (October onwards) parking in the road very nearby was no problem.

 

“Wonderful stay”

Reviewed September 2015 - The Yoga Family

 

Wonderful stay and lots of Joy. THE WHOLE PLACE IS PERFECT!

 

“Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else”

Reviewed 04 September 2015

 

Beautiful place beautiful setting, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else after staying here!

 

“The views are stunning”

Reviewed 21 August 2015

 

This cottage is beautifull. Very clean and well equipped. The views are stunning and the cottage has a very cosy feel. I would recommend a stay here without doubt. Have booked for next year.

 

“Surely one of cornwalls hidden gems”

Reviewed 31 July 2015

 

Carn Du is ideally situated overlooking coverack bay, which is surely one of cornwalls hidden gems. A clean, well kept and well presented cottage, it is an ideal place for a week or two in paradise!

 

“What a great place!”

Reviewed August 2015 - Family from Berlin

 

Housekeeper Loraine cooked us a splendid meal for our arrival night as it was a Big Birthday event. She was so helpful from the start of our booking/planning right through until we left. Jules, the adm

 

“Wonderful clifftop house...perfect for a large group”

Reviewed 21 July 2015

 

Housekeeper Loraine cooked us a splendid meal for our arrival night as it was a Big Birthday event. She was so helpful from the start of our booking/planning right through until we left. Jules, the administrator, was also extremely pleasant and helpful.

The property itself is beautiful, full of character, books and lovely things. There is plenty of space and the kitchen is well equipped to cook for a crowd. The Aga was a great feature. The infinity pool was fabulous; unfortunately the Cornish weather meant we couldn't use it as much as we had hoped.

 

“We adored the pool ”

Reviewed June 2015 - The L family.

 

What a wonderful way to celebrate a 60th birthday and an engagement! We all love Cornwall and have enjoyed exploring. The peace, and tranquillity have rejuvenated us, and we have so loved being in each other’s company, but with the space to move around. We adored the pool and also sitting in your lovely garden with its superb views. So lucky with the Cornish weather, we feel really blessed by this happy week. So many happy memories to carry forward down the years – thank you so much.

 

“Stunning location and peerless sea views”

Reviewed June 8, 2015

 

We have had an amazing family break in Carn Du. The décor of the house is beautiful and all our family have found it a place of inspiration both because of the wonderful living space and the simply stunning sea views. Even on days when the weather has been more inclement the house provides ample opportunity to relax and find space and the pool is fantastic. We love Mousehole, the little ones have a ball on the beach, crabbing around the corner and there is usually time for a pint with the teenagers or grandpa before heading up the hill! Walks along the coast path are also fantastic and there are plenty of local things to do. North shore beaches are not too far away for surf. Spare a thought for Lorraine, she does an amazing job keeping the house looking like the home we would all dream of having. The place is immaculate and is quite rightly kept so. The worst aspect of all this? Telling this to anybody who may book instead of us.

 

“We all love Carn Du”

Reviewed 25 July 2014

 

Our family has been staying at Carn Du almost every year out of the past 23, our children grew up here and we all love Carn Du. There is a very special charm about this unique property, which is perfectly situated for the beach yet set back from the road unlike many others nearer the harbour. Through the continual care shown in looking after Carn Du and regular improvements made by the owners you cannot fail to be thoroughly satisfied and relaxed with your stay whether it be in the summer or winter.

 

“A lovely old house in the perfect location - an ideal getaway”

Reviewed January 14, 2015

 

We spent two weeks before Christmas at Carn Du, so that we could host family we had not seen for some time. We all loved it! The house was well heated with lashings of hot water.

 

The location was amazing and we were able to travel around Cornwall visiting numerous attractions. We were lucky enough to be in Mousehole for the turning on of the Christmas lights which were spectacular.

 

There wasn’t anything we needed that wasn’t provided; if you wanted a sharp knife, there was a Sabatier in the draw! There are some signature pieces dotted around the house, such as the really old bath and the leather chair in the sitting room, for example, that are special. There were a few breakages, but this was written off as wear and tear.

What we liked best about the house was its soul. It was so welcoming and user friendly, it loved being lived in. It has become a family favourite. There was no downside to our stay at Carn Du.

 

The house keeper, Loraine, is available at the end of a phone, and couldn’t have been more helpful. Thank you Loraine, greetings to Badger.

 

“Stunningly beautiful inside and out”

Reviewed January 23, 2014

 

The house is as wonderful as the photographs. It is luxurious and characterful at the same time. I stayed in the main bedroom with the bath. We all took turns to use it as the views were incredible. The house floods with light even on a dull day and you can watch the weather come and go from practically every room. There is so much space that you never feel over crowded. There are lovely extras such as the flowers Lorraine provided on arrival and coffee table books and magazines. There was nothing extra that we needed.

 

I had my 50th birthday party at the house. The ground floor goes seemlessly from room to room allowing different activities to happen in each and yet not separating everybody. The pool was warm even in October and we used it everyday.  The house is very private and yet it is a short walk to Mousehole and has brilliant access to coastal walks. This is a wonderful find which we were all very sad to leave. I hope to return. Thank you to Loraine

 

“Stunning location!”

Reviewed 10 August 2014

 

We thought this house was just beautiful and you could not ask for a more stunning location, perched high up overlooking the bay of Penzance. Always something to look out at out sea, and on 2 occasions we were lucky enough to spot 8 or so dolphins.

 

A lovely, cosy, holiday property. The beds were lovely and comfortable. The views of Mousehole harbour and the sea from the property were just stunning on a clear day. The place has also been really well stocked with kitchen utensils, crockery, glasses, etc., so you do feel very at home. Wifi super fast. It is a challenging walk back up a steep hill from dinner in Mousehole back to Carn Du Cottage in the evenings, but after amazing food at a really excellent range of restaurants in the village, you need a brisk, heart thumping walk to burn off some of the calories. Lorraine - the housekeeper was wonderfully helpful and welcoming. We shall definitely return.

 

“Loveliest house imagineable”

Reviewed 06 June 2013

 

We stayed here with friends and our extended family, including 2 babies and a dog. The spaciousness, decor, general design, and provision of equipment etc made for a holiday well-provided for. The pool was great fun - didn't think I'd suffer an outdoor pool in this country but it was heavenly. Loraine is a gem and bent over backwards for us. Views magnificent. Just made us all feel expansive and relaxed. Lovely feeling of living for a short while in a family home - loved the books and photographs around, very homely.

 

“Perfect house, perfect location”

Reviewed 14 April 2013

 

We stayed for a week in this house in April and we would definitely return. The house is set within a lovely location with the most superb views. This house is clearly a loved home by the owners with beautiful furniture and art.

 

I would not hesitate to recommend this house and location. We will most certainly return.

 

Thank you.

 

“Beyond expectation!”

Reviewed 17 September 2012

 

I'm almost afraid of writing this review because I really want to keep Carn Du a secret! A quick review of the house's guest book shows that it's not a secret though, so I'll do my best to describe Carn Du's bounty without repeating, to trivia, the superlatives, 'beautiful,' 'lovely,' 'charming.'

 

For me, an urbanite of the U.S. living and working in Boston and Chicago, Carn Du was a portal to another place and time that I thought I'd only ever read about in the classics of BritLit. But it's real, it's not fiction, and it's captivating. Enthralling glamour captures you the moment your eyes set on the house's front door.

 

When the door is opened by chatelaine Loraine, all warm, welcoming, downright charming even as she's describing the dos and don'ts of the Aga to those of unfamiliar with concept ;-), you know you've arrived at Carn Du; and, chances are, you won't want to leave after a few days.

 

Let me put it this way: If you know those stories about mortals who stumble into the land of the Good Folk beneath the ground and then stumble out after a few moments only to find that a week has past while they were dancing and singing in a fairy hall, then you might be able to imagine what it's like to step into Carn Du. Though a week passes, you feel like you've been there for too short a time, and you spend your days craving a return.

 

Mousehole's Raginnis Hill, just a short distance from Penzance, is Carn Du's perch; and, it makes for spectacular views from the garden, the infinity pool, the bedroom balconies, the sun room, well, just about every part of the house. Recommendation: Listen to Kate Bush's "Sky of Honey" (AERIAL, 2005) a lot while at Carn Du for the perfect soundtrack to a stay at this house. If you don't have AERIAL, the cooing doves will be music enough.

 

I can't say enough about my experience staying at Carn Du with family and great friends. We all feel the same about our stay there, and it's my sincerest hope that I return relatively soon just to make sure that it wasn't all just a dream.

 

“Perfect house; Perfect Holiday”

Reviewed August 02, 2012

 

Beautifully furnished and laid out house with well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed heated outdoor swimming pool (with remotely controlled cover). Layout of house well thought out to provide separate space for games, TV watching etc. Incomparable views across bay to Mount St. Michael. Nicest holiday house we've ever rented.

 

 

 

To make a reservation call Reservations on 01249 730323 or - Click here to email us

Website designed and maintained by WhatAboutAWebsite

A large self-catering holiday House

and cottage in cornwall

tel: 01249 730323