A large self-catering holiday House and cottage in cornwall

tel: 01249 730323

Carn Du Reviews

 

“Beautifully furnished”

Reviewed 21 October 2016

 

Beautifully furnished cosy cottage in an amazing position. It feels loved by both owners and other visitors. It's a special place.

 

“Idyllic”

Reviewed 16 September 2016

 

Idyllic - cottage and location both superb.

 

“Loved the window seat”

Reviewed 12 August 2016

 

Location was just the best ever Loved the window seat in the kitchen, it's me and my wife new favourite place to just sit and enjoy a cup of tea. The small double bed upstairs at 6ft 3 I struggled to get comfy and have a good nights sleep but that is being very picky really as we loved the place so much we have already booked again to stay next year.

 

“The perfect location”

Reviewed 11 May 2016

 

A lovely cottage which felt like home - even cosier! It's in the perfect location in Coverack. We can see why so many people return - and we hope to be among them!

 

“The best Cornish country seaside house we've stayed at”

Reviewed 28 February 2016

 

We will remember our holiday at Carn Dun for ever. The house is beautiful and to my delight there was plenty of wonderful books in the library. We learnt to surf at Sennen Cove and spent the days wondering around the sweet little villages in this stunning area. Thank you!

 

“Rural and quiet”

Reviewed 20 February 2016

 

Absolutely fantastic holiday destination. Rural and quiet.

 

“Unbeatable location”

Reviewed 09 October 2015

 

Unbeatable location. Winter season (October onwards) parking in the road very nearby was no problem.

 

“Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else”

Reviewed 04 September 2015

 

Beautiful place beautiful setting, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else after staying here!

 

“The views are stunning”

Reviewed 21 August 2015

 

This cottage is beautifull. Very clean and well equipped. The views are stunning and the cottage has a very cosy feel. I would recommend a stay here without doubt. Have booked for next year.

 

“Surely one of cornwalls hidden gems”

Reviewed 31 July 2015

 

Carn Du is ideally situated overlooking coverack bay, which is surely one of cornwalls hidden gems. A clean, well kept and well presented cottage, it is an ideal place for a week or two in paradise!

 

“Wonderful clifftop house...perfect for a large group”

Reviewed 21 July 2015

 

Housekeeper Loraine cooked us a splendid meal for our arrival night as it was a Big Birthday event. She was so helpful from the start of our booking/planning right through until we left. Jules, the administrator, was also extremely pleasant and helpful.

The property itself is beautiful, full of character, books and lovely things. There is plenty of space and the kitchen is well equipped to cook for a crowd. The Aga was a great feature. The infinity pool was fabulous; unfortunately the Cornish weather meant we couldn't use it as much as we had hoped.

 

“Stunning location and peerless sea views”

Reviewed June 8, 2015

 

We have had an amazing family break in Carn Du. The décor of the house is beautiful and all our family have found it a place of inspiration both because of the wonderful living space and the simply stunning sea views. Even on days when the weather has been more inclement the house provides ample opportunity to relax and find space and the pool is fantastic. We love Mousehole, the little ones have a ball on the beach, crabbing around the corner and there is usually time for a pint with the teenagers or grandpa before heading up the hill! Walks along the coast path are also fantastic and there are plenty of local things to do. North shore beaches are not too far away for surf. Spare a thought for Lorraine, she does an amazing job keeping the house looking like the home we would all dream of having. The place is immaculate and is quite rightly kept so. The worst aspect of all this? Telling this to anybody who may book instead of us.

 

“We all love Carn Du”

Reviewed 25 July 2014

 

Our family has been staying at Carn Du almost every year out of the past 23, our children grew up here and we all love Carn Du. There is a very special charm about this unique property, which is perfectly situated for the beach yet set back from the road unlike many others nearer the harbour. Through the continual care shown in looking after Carn Du and regular improvements made by the owners you cannot fail to be thoroughly satisfied and relaxed with your stay whether it be in the summer or winter.

 

“A lovely old house in the perfect location - an ideal getaway”

Reviewed January 14, 2015

 

We spent two weeks before Christmas at Carn Du, so that we could host family we had not seen for some time. We all loved it! The house was well heated with lashings of hot water.

 

The location was amazing and we were able to travel around Cornwall visiting numerous attractions. We were lucky enough to be in Mousehole for the turning on of the Christmas lights which were spectacular.

 

There wasn’t anything we needed that wasn’t provided; if you wanted a sharp knife, there was a Sabatier in the draw! There are some signature pieces dotted around the house, such as the really old bath and the leather chair in the sitting room, for example, that are special. There were a few breakages, but this was written off as wear and tear.

What we liked best about the house was its soul. It was so welcoming and user friendly, it loved being lived in. It has become a family favourite. There was no downside to our stay at Carn Du.

 

The house keeper, Loraine, is available at the end of a phone, and couldn’t have been more helpful. Thank you Loraine, greetings to Badger.

 

“Stunningly beautiful inside and out”

Reviewed January 23, 2014

 

The house is as wonderful as the photographs. It is luxurious and characterful at the same time. I stayed in the main bedroom with the bath. We all took turns to use it as the views were incredible. The house floods with light even on a dull day and you can watch the weather come and go from practically every room. There is so much space that you never feel over crowded. There are lovely extras such as the flowers Lorraine provided on arrival and coffee table books and magazines. There was nothing extra that we needed.

 

I had my 50th birthday party at the house. The ground floor goes seemlessly from room to room allowing different activities to happen in each and yet not separating everybody. The pool was warm even in October and we used it everyday.  The house is very private and yet it is a short walk to Mousehole and has brilliant access to coastal walks. This is a wonderful find which we were all very sad to leave. I hope to return. Thank you to Loraine

 

“Stunning location!”

Reviewed 10 August 2014

 

We thought this house was just beautiful and you could not ask for a more stunning location, perched high up overlooking the bay of Penzance. Always something to look out at out sea, and on 2 occasions we were lucky enough to spot 8 or so dolphins.

 

A lovely, cosy, holiday property. The beds were lovely and comfortable. The views of Mousehole harbour and the sea from the property were just stunning on a clear day. The place has also been really well stocked with kitchen utensils, crockery, glasses, etc., so you do feel very at home. Wifi super fast. It is a challenging walk back up a steep hill from dinner in Mousehole back to Carn Du Cottage in the evenings, but after amazing food at a really excellent range of restaurants in the village, you need a brisk, heart thumping walk to burn off some of the calories. Lorraine - the housekeeper was wonderfully helpful and welcoming. We shall definitely return.

 

“Loveliest house imagineable”

Reviewed 06 June 2013

 

We stayed here with friends and our extended family, including 2 babies and a dog. The spaciousness, decor, general design, and provision of equipment etc made for a holiday well-provided for. The pool was great fun - didn't think I'd suffer an outdoor pool in this country but it was heavenly. Loraine is a gem and bent over backwards for us. Views magnificent. Just made us all feel expansive and relaxed. Lovely feeling of living for a short while in a family home - loved the books and photographs around, very homely.

 

“Perfect house, perfect location”

Reviewed 14 April 2013

 

We stayed for a week in this house in April and we would definitely return. The house is set within a lovely location with the most superb views. This house is clearly a loved home by the owners with beautiful furniture and art.

 

I would not hesitate to recommend this house and location. We will most certainly return.

 

Thank you.

 

“Beyond expectation!”

Reviewed 17 September 2012

 

I'm almost afraid of writing this review because I really want to keep Carn Du a secret! A quick review of the house's guest book shows that it's not a secret though, so I'll do my best to describe Carn Du's bounty without repeating, to trivia, the superlatives, 'beautiful,' 'lovely,' 'charming.'

 

For me, an urbanite of the U.S. living and working in Boston and Chicago, Carn Du was a portal to another place and time that I thought I'd only ever read about in the classics of BritLit. But it's real, it's not fiction, and it's captivating. Enthralling glamour captures you the moment your eyes set on the house's front door.

 

When the door is opened by chatelaine Loraine, all warm, welcoming, downright charming even as she's describing the dos and don'ts of the Aga to those of unfamiliar with concept ;-), you know you've arrived at Carn Du; and, chances are, you won't want to leave after a few days.

 

Let me put it this way: If you know those stories about mortals who stumble into the land of the Good Folk beneath the ground and then stumble out after a few moments only to find that a week has past while they were dancing and singing in a fairy hall, then you might be able to imagine what it's like to step into Carn Du. Though a week passes, you feel like you've been there for too short a time, and you spend your days craving a return.

 

Mousehole's Raginnis Hill, just a short distance from Penzance, is Carn Du's perch; and, it makes for spectacular views from the garden, the infinity pool, the bedroom balconies, the sun room, well, just about every part of the house. Recommendation: Listen to Kate Bush's "Sky of Honey" (AERIAL, 2005) a lot while at Carn Du for the perfect soundtrack to a stay at this house. If you don't have AERIAL, the cooing doves will be music enough.

 

I can't say enough about my experience staying at Carn Du with family and great friends. We all feel the same about our stay there, and it's my sincerest hope that I return relatively soon just to make sure that it wasn't all just a dream.

 

“Perfect house; Perfect Holiday”

Reviewed August 02, 2012

 

Beautifully furnished and laid out house with well equipped kitchen. Enjoyed heated outdoor swimming pool (with remotely controlled cover). Layout of house well thought out to provide separate space for games, TV watching etc. Incomparable views across bay to Mount St. Michael. Nicest holiday house we've ever rented.

 

 

 

To make a reservation call Reservations on 01249 730323 or - Click here to email us

Website designed and maintained by WhatAboutAWebsite

A large self-catering holiday House

and cottage in cornwall

tel: 01249 730323